My Signature Bake: Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

First off, welcome to my blog. I hope you will enjoy reading what I post and that you find it useful or interesting. This post is about food, specifically chocolate chip cookies. I have been making these cookies since the age of about 5, ever since I developed an interest in baking. All my friends know that if I have been baking it is most likely to be these and I get asked to make them a lot! I hope you will enjoy them as much as I do.

DSCN1622

Ingredients ( makes about 12 large cookies )

100g dark chocolate ( I use any that we have, but if you have a preference, use that )

125g unsalted butter

100g granulated sugar

75g soft brown sugar ( You’ll notice in the pictures, I used caster sugar. We didn’t have granulated or soft brown so I had to use it but it is nicer if you use granulated and soft brown )

1 free-range egg

2 tsp vanilla extract

150g plain flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

a pinch of salt ( i don’t do this but you probably should )

DSCN1618

  1. Preheat the oven to 190 degrees / gas mark 5 and line 2 baking sheets with baking parchment or I use magic non-stick liner which is just loads easier, you can get itย here. Chop the chocolate it to little chunks ( or put it in a plastic bag and smash with a rolling pin because lets be honest, that’s more fun isn’t it! )
  2. Melt the butter in a saucepan and put the two sorts of sugar into a mixing bowl. Pour the melted butter on top of the sugar and beat well with a wooden spoon.
  3. Break the egg into the bowl and add the vanilla. Beat until the mixture is well blended.
  4. Put the flour, baking powder and salt into the mixing bowl ( Hugh says sift it but I never do and it works fine ) and stir them in. Then add the chocolate! The mixture should be pretty sloppy but don’t start worrying ( mine looks different everytime ) unless its turned into a dough, then you probably put to much flour in.
  5. Put heaped pudding spoonfuls of the mixture on the baking sheet but space them out otherwise you will have one massive cookie instead of 12 separate ones.
  6. Remembering your oven gloves, put the baking sheets in the oven for 8-10 minutes ( although I always find mine need a little longer sometimes, it depends on your oven ) until they are golden brown.
  7. Leave the cookies on the baking sheets to harden for about 2 minutes, then get them off the baking sheet with a slice and transfer them to a wire cooling rack ( sometimes, if your lucky, one cookie will break and you’ll have to eat it because it won’t look good with the others! )
  8. Volia! The cookies are best when they are still warm and gooey in the middle but ย they are also good with ice cream as a pudding. Enjoy!

DSCN1615

Hope you enjoyed reading and have fun making these delicious cookies

Alice xxx

5 thoughts on “My Signature Bake: Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. They look amazing! Welcome to the blogosphere, I can’t wait to read more ๐Ÿ™‚ I just followed, it would be great if we can support each other! I hope you’ll enjoy blogging like we all do โค

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

