No Bake Nut Bars

I found the recipe for these on Poppy Deyes’ blog (which, by the way, I LOVE!) and she got the recipe from Minimalist Baker’s blog which I also love because (as the name would suggest) her recipes are really simple which I love! They are so delicious and healthy too but taste sweet so if you find being healthy and giving up sugar hard, give these a go!

DSCN2033

Ingredients

1 cup of pitted dates (I used medjool as I think they work best and they are really sweet)

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup cashew butter (Poppy uses almond but I didn’t have any and cashew worked just as well)

1 cup roasted, unsalted almonds (Poppy says to chop these but I didn’t and they were still fine)

1 1/2 cup roasted rolled oats

1 large handful of sultanas (Poppy uses dried cranberries but I don’t like them so used sultanas instead)

Alternatives

Here, you can change things up a bit. Instead of almonds why not go for a different type of nut like brazils or pecans, these are around the same size and I can imagine would taste delicious! If you don’t like honey or are a vegan swap it for agave nectar which is also delicious and will make it even sweeter. If you are gluten free you can swap the oats for gluten free ones.

Let’s get started

Step one: Put your dates into a food processor or a mixer (I use magimix but anything that whizzes them will do the trick) for around a minute, you want only small bits to be left so it forms a kind of dough that you can roll into a ball.

Step two: Toast the oats and almonds in an oven at 180 degrees for 10-ish minutes until they go golden brown. This only gives them extra flavour so you can miss this out but I prefer the taste when they’ve been roasted and toasted!

Step three: Put the oats, almonds, dates, and sultanas into a bowl and keep them to one side.

DSCN2025.JPG

Step four: Melt your honey and cashew butter in a small saucepan over low heat. Then stir them together and pour over the nutty mixture and give it a good stir (I usually get stuck in and use my hands!).

Step five: Depending on how thick you want your bars to be, you can change around your tin size, I went for an 30×19 cm tin covered with cling film so they can be removed easily!. I prefer them quite square shaped so they look more like flapjack.
Step six: Press down on your mixture in the tin until it is flattened and as even as you can make it.

Step seven: Put them into the fridge and let them rest for 15 minutes.

Step eight: Take the tin out of the fridge and chop the mixture into 10 even bars (or as many as you want depending on size).

DSCN2032.JPG

That’s it! I hope you enjoyed reading and maybe you’ll have a go at making these (they really are delicious). If you try any variations let me know if they’re nice and maybe I’ll give them a go too!

Alice x

2 thoughts on “No Bake Nut Bars

Leave a Reply

