Review: Rimmel Match Perfection Foundation

I recently picked up a Rimmel Match Perfection foundation (Β£7.99) as I had heard so many people talk about it online. I have worn it everyday for about a week and I LOVE it.

DSCN2044

Firstly I’d say that this foundation has a pretty good shade range. There are 12 shades of which I am the fairest (Light Porcelain) and it goes up to a shade called Deep Mocha which is one of the first shades I’ve seen for darker skin tones in the drugstore which is something that definitely need improving but that’s a post for another time.

The second thing I would say is this foundation is scented. The smell to me is really nice, quite fruity and has the same scent as the Wake Me Up foundation from them if you’ve tried that, but if you don’t like scented products this might not be for you.

The foundation claims to have invisible coverage and also claims to give visibly perfected skin. This I 100% agree with. The foundation looks really natural on the skin and blends in with the natural tone, instead of covering it like a mask, but at the same time it has really good medium to buildable coverage. It is quite a glowing finish to it which also helps it look ‘skin-like’, some very matte foundation can’t do that and can look cakey and unnatural. It does also visibly perfect the skin and blurs out large pores or imperfections on the skin. The foundation also has a really nice consistency and feels really smooth when you apply it, I use the Real Techniques Complexion Sponge and bounce it onto my face for this because I think it makes it look even more natural.

DSCN2047

The foundation also claims to have 24hr moisture complex and I do find it very hydrating when I apply it but to maximise the hydration if you have very dry skin, don’t use a powder because I found when using mine (Mac Studio Fix) my dry patches start to show after about 5 hours and no-one wants dry flaky foundation skin!

Overall I would say this foundation is great, especially for people with drier skin and I would even go as far as to say it might be the best I’ve ever tried (although that wouldn’t be hard as I haven’t tried many at all and they were all drugstore). If you have tried it let me know what you thought and let me know of any others I should try.

Hope you enjoyed reading!

Alice x

 

 

Leave a Reply

